Innovation stops at 30 (apparently).

Believe it or not there are quite a lot of my grumbles I don’t air on here because I think they are personal to me and people won’t get them but this morning I was surprised when a certain issue that has been plaguing me recently was brought up by someone else on Twitter.

Why are all the grants for people younger than 30yrs? #ageism
@eva_photography
 

There seems to be some sort of invisible threshold you pass once you are 30 that means you have to start acting like a grown up, and you are not able to take any stupid risks like, starting your own business.

The government keep going on about supporting new businesses, innovations and entrepreneurship but only if your between 16-29. If you have actually done something in your twenties and managed to establish yourself then your allowed to be a crazy self-employed, creative thirty-something; but wanting to step out of main stream employment for the first time after 30 – are you MAD?

No, you should be at home paying your mortgage, having children and buying all those consumables that support the economy. It’s your responsibility as a proper grown-up. We can’t have you gallivanting off and being creative now, who will buy all the cars, houses and DFS sofas? Go and get yourself a cup of tea, honestly being a tea drinker is something that makes you interesting these days (oh you whimsical fool you).

Anyway I digress, but shit man I feel like I’ve been resigned to scrap heap of responsibility recently and I was sure I still had so much to give. I had this idea ages ago about a business I wanted to start but things kept getting in the way like moving house, having a baby and all those other things I should be doing. The concept was a dressing-up box for grown-up girls full of beautiful vintage inspired dresses that could be hired for parties, hen dos etc. I did lots of work contacting suppliers and getting costs and doing a plan but the timing just wasn’t right. Anyway I recently starting looking at the idea again as someone told me about some start-up funding I may be able to access. Brilliant! So I got in touch with them and they seemed really enthusiastic up until the point they asked me how old I was and they turned around and said the funding was only available for 18-24 yr olds. Fucking wonderful. So my ideas were valid but my age makes me invalid, thanks very much. So really. what I need now is a 23 year old front man who can get the funding while I actually run the business.  Ridic.

I even looked at crowd funding but couldn’t see how that would work, unless 100 people want to give £50 to get a dress loaned to them. Yeah not so much right?

So I got really pissy and hit my laptop a bit too hard and the plastic frame thing popped out and now it won’t shut properly and that is my punishment for being remotely ambitious at my age.

Maybe it is just a small minority of people who feel like this, or maybe there are thousands of people out there feeling frustrated at the fact you feel like you can’t step out of the role of sensible adult? I don’t have any answers here but I’d love to know if anyone else has ever felt like this and from anyone who has managed to shed the shackles of assumed responsibility and made a change after their 20s.

Leave a Reply

